it en

Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement Gèneve | 10 November 2016 – 29 January 2017

When: 10 November 2016 – 29 January 2017
Where: Centre d’Art Contemporain Genéve


The 2016 edition of The Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement is organized by the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève and co-produced by Faena Art and In Between Art Film.

Since its inception in 1985, the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement has provided a platform for art and ideas by surveying the ever-shifting territories of moving images while aiming to make sense of this extraordinary profusion of images that has progressively invaded all aspects of contemporary art. Over a period of 30 years the BIM has brought together the very best in video art, showing works by artists such as Bill Viola, Gary Hill, Steina and Woody Vasulka, Robert Filliou, Chris Marker, Guy Debord, Vito Acconci, William Wegman, Bruce Nauman, Chantal Akerman, Rebecca Horn, Jean-Luc Godard, Andy Warhol, Philippe Garrel, Nam June Paik, Laurie Anderson, Artavazd Pelechian, Harun Farocki, Matt Mullican, Anri Sala and the Straub/Huillet duo. The Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement was founded by André Iten in 1985, during a workshop with the artists Silvie and Chérif Defraoui. It was initially called the “International Video Week” and was one of the first events of its kind in Europe.


In Between Art Film participated to the co-production of 27 new artworks, commiossioned and produced for the occasion. The originality of the new BIM resides in the fact that artistis had no specific curatorial theme to respond to. This distinguishes the BIM from the usual biennial format and positions it as a post-curatorial event, leaving the artists a carte blanche to shape their own discourse while questioning the status of the curator.


Artistic Director: Andrea Bellini -director of the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève.
In collaboration with:
Cecilia Alemani, director and curator of High Line Art, New York;
Caroline Bourgeois, chief curator and conservator of the Pinault Collection, Paris;
Elvira Dyangani Ose, curator and lecturer in visual cultures at Goldsmiths, University of London, and member of the Thought Council at the Fondazione Prada.
Participating Artists: Sophia Al Maria | Yuri Ancarani | Karimah Ashadu | Trisha Baga | Bertille Bak | Hicham Berrada | Phoebe Boswell | Brian Bress | Loulou Cherinet | Massimo D’Anolfi e Martina Parenti | Alessio Di Zio | Bodil Furu | Jenna Hasse | Emilie Jouvet | Evangelia Kranioti | Salomé Lamas | Cinthia Marcelle & Thiago Mata Machado | Tracey Rose | Cally Sponer | Kerry Tribe | Wu Tsang